Short Review: The Keeper of Lost Things – Ruth Hogan

I’d heard many-a-good review about Ruth Hogan’s new novel. I was particularly drawn in by a daily mail review, despite my aversion to this particular paper.

This is the first book I read in 2017 – and if another as good comes along in the next 12 months, I’ll eat my special gold reviewing spectacles. “

This book is beautiful. There is a wonderful nostalgia that surrounds each character, each of whom have sad pasts that tug a little on your heart strings. When I say ‘character’ I also refer to the stories behind the ‘lost things’ – Anthony, an old man, stores hundreds of lost treasures in his studies, and in turn, we are able to read the short stories that he has placed against these treasures. Alongside Anthony is his assistant Laura. After struggling through a difficult past, she has finally found her solace in Anthony and his house, Padua and she makes it her mission to uncover the reason behind Anthony’s unusual hording.

What I found particularly interesting about this novel, was the narrative structure, and how we often jump into the past to follow Eunice, a woman who recently landed herself a job at a publishers. She falls in love with her boss, Bomber and somehow Laura’s timeline in the present is affected by Eunice in the 1970s, making for an intriguing yet sometimes confusing read.

I’d suggest this is an incredibly comforting read, and made me wonder if Anthony has indeed found any of my ‘lost’ things.

 

Snail Rating 

cropped-snail1.pngcropped-snail1.pngcropped-snail1.png

Leave a Reply

