The Legacy – Michael Phillips *Warning: Negative Opinions!*

Title: The Legacy

Author: Michael Phillips

Year: 2017

Publisher: Bethany House Publishers

**I’d fist like to note, that I was offered this novel in exchange for an honest review… And I will be honest, this won’t be the most positive review I’ve ever given… in fact I often don’t like to leave negative reviews at all but I do genuinely feel this book would be great for the right person!  Furthermore, it is unfinished, so I was able to excuse a few mistakes that I noticed throughout the book. I don’t know if it was because of the way my Kindle had formatted the words, but there were a lot of emphasised words in italics that were in the wrong place. (Like my example – is it annoying or is it just me?)

This novel follows multiple generations on their move to the Shetland Islands – Loni, being our present protagonist – from America. There was something comforting about reading the descriptions of ‘Whales Reef’ and I did enjoy Loni’s friend Maddy, in America, who was a down-to-earth, successful business woman trying to make a go at things… at the gym. As much as I enjoyed the characters, I did find it irritating how each perspective jumped back and forth so quickly – Its like sitting with someone who can’t make their mind up what television channel they want to watch. Just pick a story and leave it! (Please) As strange as it sounds, I can describe this novel as being like an ITV drama with modern-day Jane Austin vibes playing through it. Particularly by the cover art (photo) and when we jump back to the older generations like Emily who simply must go to Scotland – its an opportunity of a lifetime!

I will admit, I didn’t manage to finish this. It’s not really my cup-of-tea – though the story line was rich in the sense that there was a lot going and the writing style was terrific, I just couldn’t get into it. Perhaps it was because of the romantic vibe the book was trying to stir… Or the ITV drama feel it had to it.  I don’t know. I do know that this is definitely a perfect ready for someone looking for an easy-going, gossipy/romance sort of story. s My kindle told me it would take 6 hours to read… I’m a fast reader, but this is a long time! Its certainly a read that I’m sure someone will want to get their teeth into. – I know those last sentences conflict each other… but it’s true!

 

 

Snail Rating:

 

snailsnail

Leave a Reply

