Throwback Thursday: The Shadow in The – by Carlos Ruiz Saffron

515EbWu1IeL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

Snail Rating: cropped-snail1.pngcropped-snail1.pngcropped-snail1.pngcropped-snail1.pngcropped-snail1.png

 

I’ve done it. I’m finally using the phrase/ hashtag that I’ve hated for years. But as book tags go, its pretty handy for refreshing ourselves of some old favourites. You can find where this meme originated at Book Talk!

I’ve chosen The Shadow in The Wind by Carlos Ruiz Saffron. I have blogged about this novel before – back when my blog was new and I had about two followers – thanks guys! 😊 This book really is amazing, comforting and magical and I just want to bury my head inside it every time I pick it up.

Its basic premise?

According to tradition, the first time someone visits this place, he must chose a book, whichever he wants, and adopt it, making sure it will never disappear, that it will always stay alive.

Here is Goodread’s description:

Barcelona, 1945: A city slowly heals in the aftermath of the Spanish Civil War, and Daniel, an antiquarian book dealer’s son who mourns the loss of his mother, finds solace in a mysterious book entitled The Shadow of the Wind, by one Julián Carax. But when he sets out to find the author’s other works, he makes a shocking discovery: someone has been systematically destroying every copy of every book Carax has written. In fact, Daniel may have the last of Carax’s books in existence. Soon Daniel’s seemingly innocent quest opens a door into one of Barcelona’s darkest secrets–an epic story of murder, madness, and doomed love. 

 

It’s a readers book and I promise, you will fall in love.

Leave a Reply

